What is AmeriCorps?
AmeriCorps is a federal agency whose mission is to improve lives, strengthen communities, and foster civic engagement through service and volunteering. AmeriCorps is made up of three main programs: AmeriCorps State and National, AmeriCorps VISTA, and AmeriCorps NCCC (National Civilian Community Corps).

Members must be at least 17 years of age, with a high school diploma or GED; there is no upper age limit. Upon completion of the program, members are eligible to receive the Segal AmeriCorps Education Award equal to the maximum Pell Grant amount.

Volunteer Iowa awards AmeriCorps State grants to programs operating within Iowa. The type of program that will work best for an organization depends on the number of AmeriCorps members needed, and the type and length of service the organization wishes them to provide. Instead of applying directly for an AmeriCorps program, an organization may be able to host a member through an existing AmeriCorps National or State Intermediary.

Click here to find out more about the differences between these three programs.

AmeriCorps FAQs
AmeriCorps FAQs link

Individuals interested in joining AmeriCorps
 Join AmeriCorps link

Organizations interested in starting an AmeriCorps program 
Start an AmeriCorps program link

AmeriCorps vs. Peace Corps: Which one is right for you? 
AmeriCorps vs. Peace Corps

Printed from the website on January 28, 2023 at 11:36pm.