Skip to main content
Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Polls Open for Volunteer Hall of Fame People's Choice Award



March 13, 2020

Contact: Betsy Shelton, Volunteer Iowa, 515.348.6228 / 800.308.5987

Polls Open for Volunteer Hall of Fame People’s Choice Award

Online votes accepted through March 31

DES MOINES, Iowa – Volunteer Iowa is pleased to announce the latest Iowa Volunteer Hall of Fame inductees:

  • Dr. Jeffrey Akey, Hiawatha
  • Boone Hope Foundation, Boone
  • Gary Lawson, West Des Moines
  • Deb Pulver, West Des Moines
  • Warren Van Dyke, Greene

During the month of March, the public is invited to vote for the inductee they feel most deserves to also receive the People’s Choice Award, which gives extra recognition for exceptional contributions as a volunteer. An online polling station is available at through March 31; one vote per day may be submitted.

The People’s Choice Award winner will be announced April 21 during a recognition ceremony in the State Capitol for the 2020 Iowa Volunteer Hall of Fame honorees and Excellence in Mentoring Award recipients.

Often described as the “Oscars” for Iowa volunteers, the names of the 179 individuals, groups, and organizations selected for the Iowa Volunteer Hall of Fame since it began in 1989 are engraved on plaques permanently displayed in the State Historical Museum. For more information, visit


About Volunteer Iowa (Iowa Commission on Volunteer Service)

Volunteer Iowa and its partner agencies work with organizations and individuals on three main fronts.

The first is to help agencies develop quality programs that use service as a strategy to fulfill their

missions and address Iowa’s greatest areas of need. The second is to help engage Iowans in their communities by promoting service and expanding the volunteer base. Finally, the third area of work is to connect individuals with appropriate service opportunities by building the volunteer infrastructure.

More information is available at

About the 2020 Volunteer Hall of Fame Inductees

Detailed information about each inductee is available from the Volunteer Iowa website: